Pennybacker Bridge – Austin, Texas

7/29/2010:

I have seen many pictures of this bridge so I decided that I had to get a shot of it during my visit to Austin.  The weather did not really cooperate during the day or at sunset, but it made for a nice night shot.  This was taken around 11:30 PM.
The Pennybacker Bridge in Austin, Texas bridges Lake Austin to connect north and south Loop 360 highway, also known as the "Capital of Texas Highway." The road is widely considered one of the most scenic urban drives in central Texas, in large part due to this arched weathering steel bridge and the rolling hills that flank the road. In 2001, 48,000 vehicles crossed the bridge daily. Ten years prior, 22,000 vehicles crossed the bridge daily.  from Wikipedia.
3 responses

  1. I’ve lived here 16 years and still don’t have a picture of the Pennybacker Bridge! This is a great one. I love the overall feel – your lighting is so much more interesting than most of the images I see taken from there. Very nice job.

    August 2, 2010 at 12:14 pm

    • Thanks for your comments Dave. I love your work also and have a link on my page to your site. I hope that is OK with you.

      August 2, 2010 at 1:16 pm

      • Todd,

        I’m honoured that you would link to my site! Thanks very much.

        Dave

        August 2, 2010 at 10:17 pm

Leave a Reply

